Skip to content
Neath Port Talbot Counts — Neath Port Talbot, in numbers.Local help →

Neath Port Talbot, in numbers

Projects

Neath Port Talbot council area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Neath

Gnoll Country Park redevelopment

The park has a new visitor centre, repaired ruins and cascades, and a link to Brynau Farm.

Main redevelopment complete; some facilities still described as opening soon · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council

What the source says: The council confirms the £12 million redevelopment complete, but its page still describes soft play and cottage bookings as forthcoming. Those facilities are not assumed open.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
£12 million redevelopment described by the council.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Gnoll Country Park regeneration →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

The park has completed improvements →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Port Talbot

Princess Royal Theatre and Civic Square

The theatre and square are being improved for events and everyday public use.

Works underway in the reviewed page; summer 2026 completion unverified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council

What the source says: The page describes work underway and a forecast finish. Riverside is a separate second phase needing additional funding; it is not counted as funded construction.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Port Talbot town-centre regeneration →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Use the square beyond major events →

The Riverside phase still needs money →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Pontneddfechan

Pontneddfechan visitor infrastructure

The proposals address parking, toilets, road safety and visitor facilities.

Funding secured; design and planning steps described · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council

What the source says: The council records £7.7 million funding and consultation in autumn/winter 2023. The page describes a forthcoming planning application, not completed facilities.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
£7.7 million funding for the visitor infrastructure programme.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Waterfall Country Pontneddfechan →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Visitor pressure needs a village-scale response →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →