Skip to content
Neath Port Talbot Counts — Neath Port Talbot, in numbers.Local help →

Neath Port Talbot, in numbers

People and living standards

Neath Port Talbot council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Neath Port Talbot council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 138,844 in 1991 to 142,028 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Neath Port Talbot council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 137,327 people in 1996; 142,028 people in 2025. 3.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Neath Port Talbot council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991138,844
1992138,496
1993138,219
1994138,597
1995137,751
1996137,327
1997136,679
1998136,085
1999135,356
2000134,834
2001134,380
2002134,931
2003136,233
2004137,144
2005137,670
2006138,323
2007138,957
2008139,481
2009139,537
2010139,638
2011139,880
2012139,694
2013139,093
2014139,439
2015139,704
2016141,000
2017141,022
2018141,342
2019141,385
2020142,308
2021141,934
2022142,119
2023141,747
2024142,627
2025142,028
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Neath Port Talbot council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 27,920 people in 1996; 23,966 people in 2025. 14.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Neath Port Talbot council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199128,097
199228,198
199328,270
199428,891
199528,237
199627,920
199727,692
199827,357
199927,015
200026,701
200126,339
200226,070
200326,066
200426,026
200525,909
200625,635
200725,469
200825,327
200925,088
201024,837
201124,674
201224,643
201324,406
201424,563
201524,728
201624,893
201724,921
201825,144
201925,232
202025,268
202125,008
202224,728
202324,676
202424,351
202523,966
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Neath Port Talbot council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 84,014 people in 1996; 86,233 people in 2025. 2.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Neath Port Talbot council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199185,470
199284,980
199384,601
199484,793
199584,122
199684,014
199783,766
199883,659
199983,439
200083,439
200183,405
200284,145
200385,389
200486,278
200586,897
200687,725
200788,369
200888,804
200988,828
201088,861
201189,002
201288,091
201387,152
201486,812
201586,549
201687,329
201787,033
201886,846
201986,434
202086,905
202186,697
202286,835
202386,162
202486,975
202586,233
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Neath Port Talbot council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,393 people in 1996; 31,829 people in 2025. 25.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Neath Port Talbot council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,277
199225,318
199325,348
199424,913
199525,392
199625,393
199725,221
199825,069
199924,902
200024,694
200124,636
200224,716
200324,778
200424,840
200524,864
200624,963
200725,119
200825,350
200925,621
201025,940
201126,204
201226,960
201327,535
201428,064
201528,427
201628,778
201729,068
201829,352
201929,719
202030,135
202130,229
202230,556
202330,909
202431,301
202531,829
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 142,290 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Neath Port Talbot · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,2531.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5220.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,5831.1%
White137,51196.6%
Other ethnic group4210.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 139,812 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Neath Port Talbot · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White137,08798.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9100.7%
Asian/Asian British1,3691%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2990.2%
Other ethnic group1470.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 134,468 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Neath Port Talbot · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White133,02098.9%
Mixed5280.4%
Asian/Asian British5390.4%
Black/Black British1430.1%
Chinese/Other2380.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 23.3% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Neath Port Talbot council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,430 per person in 1997; £19,910 per person in 2024. 111.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Neath Port Talbot council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,430
19989,533
19999,887
200010,661
200111,023
200211,011
200311,261
200411,637
200511,755
200612,137
200712,761
200813,203
200913,187
201013,392
201113,404
201213,865
201314,394
201414,819
201515,216
201615,196
201715,757
201815,719
201916,404
202016,767
202117,071
202217,532
202318,704
202419,910
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Neath Port Talbot council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -11.1% in 1997; -23.3% in 2024. 12.2 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Neath Port Talbot council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-11.1
1998-12
1999-12.6
2000-10.4
2001-10.9
2002-13
2003-13.6
2004-14.3
2005-16.4
2006-17.1
2007-16.8
2008-16.2
2009-17.6
2010-17.1
2011-17.7
2012-17.9
2013-17.8
2014-18
2015-20
2016-21.1
2017-20
2018-23
2019-22.1
2020-20.1
2021-21.8
2022-23.7
2023-23.5
2024-23.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

50.5%

21 March 2021 · Neath Port Talbot council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

25.4%

21 March 2021 · Neath Port Talbot council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

23.7%

21 March 2021 · Neath Port Talbot council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

8.8%

21 March 2021 · Neath Port Talbot council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£168,000

July 2026 · Neath Port Talbot council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£690

August 2026 · Neath Port Talbot council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.